Lrbolsover’s Weblog

August 31, 2008

iGoogle and Mozilla 3.0

Filed under: Uncategorized — lrbolsover @ 8:14 pm

I looked at personalised homepages among other things this week. Lawrence had showed us his Pageflakes page at the end of one of the sessions and I really wanted to see what it did. I tried Pageflakes but quickly got bogged down- maybe I just didn’t have the time to concentrate that day and I am short of patience sometimes! So next I tried iGoogle. It was a lot of fun setting the theme up and adding pages and applications. The I went to look at what they actually did and deleted at least half since they didn’t really give me anything useful. I managed to display my Flickr photos in the Flickr widget and got my Facebook site on the home page. Then I tried setting up a personlaized page for non-standard iGoogle content. Here is where I began to feel frustrated as it didn’t seem to support many of the RSS feeds I wanted. I got a few working but have had to let it lie for now as I ran out of time.
On the Browser side- I have mostly used Mozilla for a while- because (as mentioned above I am freqently impatient) it is much quicker than IE. Mozilla 3.0 which I have recently downloaded is the best yet. It remembers which websites I had tabbed open and loads them the next day like magic. I love this as both in Acq and Subs Man I usually have to have multiple windows open and it saves time getting started. I also have the add-on Stumbling which has practical as well as social aspects. Not only can you find unusual content but also see who else is interested in the obscure subjects you are. Although when I have tried serious subjects like- I don’t know “e-journals” or something I get very little.
Opera seems very high tech and much more integrated with moblie phone technology than others browsers. I found it a bit scary so-far. Shall try again soon and have a more coherent comment.
Finally- I got a response to one of my Blog postings from outside our group! so I guess the internet world is really listening. I like it

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.